What Are the Consequences of a First DUI Offense in California?

What Are the Consequences of a First DUI Offense in California?

Picture of person in handcuffs

Whatever circumstances led to your DUI arrest, first offenses can lead to several types of penalties. Our Oakland DUI lawyer in Alameda County can aggressively defend your legal interests and help you understand the laws that apply to your particular situation.

How Police Officers Identify Impaired Drivers

California law outlines the penalties and consequences for first and subsequent DUI offenses. State agencies also provide information on how police officers identify potentially impaired drivers. Actions that may lead to a traffic stop include:

  • Weaving in the lane or between lanes
  • Veering onto the shoulder of the road or crossing the median
  • Stopping erratically, too quickly, or too slowly
  • Random acceleration or deceleration
  • Failing to adhere to posted signs
  • Driving on the wrong side of the road

Breath Tests, Chemical Tests and Implied Consent

When you are driving in California, you must adhere to the implied consent law. Under this law, anyone arrested for driving under the influence has consented to a breath or blood test.

You may withdraw your consent by refusing the test. However, this can lead to serious consequences and we do not recommend it. Penalties include an immediate one-year license suspension. Additionally, the police may get a court order to draw your blood and get the evidence they need, regardless of your initial refusal.

Note that the implied consent law does not apply to preliminary alcohol screening. You have the right to refuse a preliminary breathalyzer test and sobriety testing.

Penalties for a First Time DUI Offense in California

If you are convicted of a first time DUI charge, then you could face a wide range of penalties. Possible consequences include:

  • Base fines between $390 and $1,000
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Probation and DUI school
  • License suspension up to six months
  • Possible ignition interlock requirements

Keep in mind that aggravating factors and whether the driver is under 21 years of age can affect first-time DUI penalties.

Consult with our DUI attorney in Alameda County to review your potential options after a first time DUI arrest. Attorney William Walraven can fight to get you the lightest sentence possible and restore your chance at a normal future.

Our Oakland DUI Lawyer Will Fight for Your Rights

The consequences of a first time DUI arrest in can negatively impact your career options, your financial standing and your freedom. This is not a charge to fight on your own—you need the assistance of a DUI lawyer.

Our Oakland DUI attorney will look for holes in the prosecution’s case, determine whether your initial traffic stop was legal, and do everything in our power to get your charge reduced or dismissed. Reach out to Law Offices of William Walraven as soon as possible after your arrest.

Call us today at (650) 204-3879 and let DUI attorney William Walraven start building your case. You can also connect with us online using our confidential contact form.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *